[Open travel planner]
Sign Up To save this plan between visits. Forgotten your password?
Region > Lugano

City Guide Lugano

This handy offline city guide provides you with the most useful information about Lugano. Its integrated city map shows the most interesting places and events and the quickest way to the next hotel or ATM. Free download!

Video preview




The latter, an international city and the crossroads and melting pot of European culture, constitutes one of the most interesting regions to be discovered. The city is open and welcoming and offers thousands of value added possibilities typical of a united and constantly open Switzerland, a sort of gate to Europe. Lugano, the largest town in the holiday region of Ticino, is not only Switzerland's third most important financial centre and a conference, banking and business centre, but also a town of parks and flowers, villas and sacred buildings. With Mediterranean flair, Lugano offers all the advantages of a world-class city, combined with the cachet of a small town.

A region: Ticino – a city: Lugano

The latter, an international city and the crossroads and melting pot of European culture, constitutes one of the most interesting regions to be discovered. The city is open and welcoming and offers thousands of value added possibilities typical of a united and constantly open Switzerland, a sort of gate to Europe.

Lugano, the largest town in the holiday region of Ticino, is not only Switzerland's third most important financial centre and a conference, banking and business centre, but also a town of parks and flowers, villas and sacred buildings. With Mediterranean flair, Lugano offers all the advantages of a world-class city, combined with the cachet of a small town. 

Lugano lies in a bay on the northern side of Lake Lugano, surrounded by numerous mountains offering splendid viewpoints. The traffic-free historic town centre, the numerous buildings in Italianate Lombardy style, the exclusive museums, the mountains, lake and a packed calendar of events all invite visitors to see the sights, soak up the atmosphere – and enjoy "dolce far niente". Thanks to its mild climate, Lugano is a popular tourist destination in the spring when the camellias are in bloom.
The town centre with its Mediterranean-style squares and arcades, and numerous parks with sub-tropical plants such as the Parco Civico on the shores of the lake invite you to laze around, enjoying the atmosphere. By the lakeside promenade are the Belvedere Gardens, where the parkland boasts not only camellias and magnolias but also countless sub-tropical plants and modern works of art.
Art connoisseurs are attracted to this city of art and architecture by the high standard of the exhibitions it hosts. In the Museo Cantonale d'Arte are paintings by Klee, Jawlensky, Renoir and Degas, among others. In the last 50 years, the Ticino region, and Lugano in particular, have developed into an important region for architecture. The most well-known representatives of the "Ticino School" are Luigi Snozzi and Mario Botta. Botta's Banca della Svizzera Italiana (Viale Franscini), the Palazzo Ransila (Via Pretorio) and his own workshop on the Via Ciani are good examples.
The two closest mountains to Lugano, Monte San Salvatore and Monte Brè, give you an outstanding panorama of the town, Lake Lugano and the alpine scenery. From Monte Brè there is a walk down to the village of Brè, which has preserved its typical Ticino village centre, and enhanced it with works of art. From the San Salvatore another popular walk leads down through the beautifully situated Carona to Lake Lugano at Morcote. Taking a boat trip back to Lugano is a splendid way to round off the day. Other excursions are to the fishing village of Gandria, up the Monte Lema, the Monte Generoso or to the Lilliput world of Switzerland in Miniature at Melide.

Region > Lugano

City Guide Lugano

Mit diesem komplett offline nutzbaren Städteführer haben Sie die wichtigsten Informationen rund um Lugano stets dabei. Der integrierte Stadtplan zeigt Ihnen die interessantesten Orte und Veranstaltungen und führt Sie auf dem schnellsten Weg zum nächsten Hotel oder Bankautomaten. Kostenloser Download!

Video preview




Eine internationale Stadt, in der sich europäische Kulturen vermischen und die Region zu einer der interessantesten Gegenden machen, deren Entdeckung sich sicher lohnt. Eine offene und zukunftsorientierte Stadt, die unzählige Möglichkeiten bietet, einer solidarischen und weltoffenen Schweiz Tor zu Europa zu sein. Lugano - die grösste Stadt in der Ferienregion Tessin, ist nicht nur drittwichtigster Finanzplatz der Schweiz, Kongress-, Banken- und Businesszentrum, sondern auch die Stadt der Parks und Blumen, der Villen und Sakralbauten. Mit mediterranem Flair bietet Lugano alle Vorteile einer Stadt von Welt und zugleich das Cachet einer Kleinstadt.

Das Tessin - eine Region. Lugano - eine Stadt

Eine internationale Stadt, in der sich europäische Kulturen vermischen und die Region zu einer der interessantesten Gegenden machen, deren Entdeckung sich sicher lohnt. Eine offene und zukunftsorientierte Stadt, die unzählige Möglichkeiten bietet, einer solidarischen und weltoffenen Schweiz Tor zu Europa zu sein.

Lugano - die grösste Stadt in der Ferienregion Tessin, ist nicht nur drittwichtigster Finanzplatz der Schweiz, Kongress-, Banken- und Businesszentrum, sondern auch die Stadt der Parks und Blumen, der Villen und Sakralbauten. Mit mediterranem Flair bietet Lugano alle Vorteile einer WeltStadt und zugleich das Cachet einer Kleinstadt.

In einer Bucht am Nordufer des Luganersees, umgeben von mehreren Aussichtsbergen, liegt Lugano. Der verkehrsfreie historische Stadtkern, die zahlreichen Bauten im lombardischen Stil, exklusive Museen, die Berge, der See und ein voller Veranstaltungskalender laden zum Besichtigen, Erleben - und zum "Dolcefarniente" ein. Dank des milden Klimas ist Lugano bereits im Frühling zur Kamelienblüte ein beliebtes Reiseziel.
Der Stadtkern mit südländisch anmutenden Plätzen und Arkaden sowie zahlreiche Parks mit subtropischen Pflanzen wie etwa der Parco Civico am Seeufer laden zum  und Geniessen ein. An der Seepromenade erstreckt sich der Belvedere-Garten. Neben Kamelien und Magnolien schmücken zahlreiche subtropische Gewächse sowie moderne Kunstwerke das Parkbild.
Das hohe Niveau verschiedener Ausstellungen lockt Interessierte in die Kunst- und Architekturstadt. Im Museo d'arte della Svizzera italiana sind Gemälde u.a. von Klee, Jawlensky, Renoir und Degas ausgestellt. Das Tessin und besonders Lugano haben sich in den letzten 50 Jahren zu einer bedeutenden Architektur-Region entwickelt. Die bekanntesten Vertreter der Tessiner Schule sind Luigi Snozzi und Mario Botta. Bottas BSI Bank (Viale Franscini) oder der Palazzo Ransila (Via Pretorio) sind Beispiele hierfür. 

Von den beiden Luganeser Hausbergen, Monte San Salvatore und Monte Brè, geniesst man ein schönes Panorama über die Stadt, den Luganersee und die Bergkulisse. Vom Monte Brè führt ein Spaziergang hinunter ins Dorf Brè, das seinen typischen Tessiner Dorfkern bewahrt und raffiniert mit Kunstwerken ausgestattet hat. Vom San Salvatore führt eine beliebte Wanderung durch das wunderschön gelegene Carona hinunter an den Luganersee bei Morcote. Die Rückfahrt per Schiff nach Lugano bildet einen würdigen Abschluss. Weitere Ausfüge führen ins Fischerdorf Gandria, auf den Monte Lema oder den Monte Generoso sowie in die Liliputwelt des Swissminiatur bei Melide.